SSC CGL Exam Pattern – Tier – 1,2,3 & 4

The SSC CGL Exam pattern is developed and maintained by a national examination conducted by the Personnel Selection Committee (SSC) to shortlist Group B and Group C positions in various government ministries/departments/organizations of India. Each year, around 3 million applicants complete SSC CGL applications. After a thorough completion of the SSC CGL, the next step is to understand the detailed Exam pattern of the exam’s various phases. Because SSC CGL consists of 4 different levels, it is essential to understand their curriculum independently. Therefore, go through the examination details thoroughly.

SSC CGL Exam – Tier 1

According to the SSC CGL exam model, the CGL Level 1 exam is an online exam based on multiple choices. The SSC CGL exam is in into 4 parts and has a total of 100 questions. The total mark awarded for the Level I exam is 200 points. Also, the Level I exam duration is 60 minutes (80 minutes for candidates with different abilities).

SSC CGL Lecture-Level I consists of four parts:

  1. General reasoning of intelligence
  2. General perception
  3. Quantitative capacity and
  4. The SSC CGL English course covers English comprehension skills.

SC CGL Test Mode – Important Tips:

  • Since bad attempts comes under negative marking, candidates should be careful when attempting to ask questions.
  • According to the SSC CGL exam template, candidates can deduct 0.5 points for incorrect answers.
  • Applicants should have a complete picture of all tests and practice many tests from the previous year.
  • Applicants should cover all of the important topics listed in the SSC CGL Level 1 overview.
  • The SSC CGL reasoning course syllabus covers many topics and should be widely understood.
  • The SSC CGL exam mode changes from time to time, so candidates should be very careful.
  • Hence, candidates must complete free mock tests according to the latest SSC CGL model. Solving the mock exam helps candidates analyze their next SSC exam preparation.
  • Hence, there is a large overlap between the SSC CGL program and the UPSC program.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Exam – Tier 2

According to the SSC CGL exam model, level II consists of 4 tests.

  1. Quantitative ability – 200 points in total. The time allowed for this article is 2 hours.
  2. English and Comprehension: The total mark for this essay is 200, and the time to complete this in 2 hours.
  3. Statistics: Candidates must re-complete the 200 point test within 2 hours.
  4. General Studies-Finance and Economics-Thesis receives 200 points and lasts 2 hours.

SSC CGL Tier-II Test Mode – Important Tips:

  • Also, as mentioned in the 4-SSC CGL paper test model, the score distribution for “Finance” is 80 points and 120 points totaling 200.
  • All positions are required to participate in theses 1 and 2.
  • Part III applies to candidates who have applied for the post of Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) and have been elected to Level I of the post/thesis.
  • Also, category 4 pre selection only applies to Category 1 and Category 4 candidates’ positions, i.e., Assistant Auditor / Accounting Secretary.
  • Therefore, based on the SSC CGL model, applicants can expect a score of 0.25 for each incorrect answer in Paper-II (English and English comprehension) and a score of 0.50 for each incorrect answer in Paper-I, Paper-III, and Paper-IV.

SSC CGL Exam – Tier 3

According to the SSC CGL exam model, the level 3 exam is a subjective essay via a pen and paper model.

According to the SSC CGL Tier III schedule, this test is designed to assess a candidate’s knowledge of English grammar, vocabulary usage, and English / Hindi writing. Applicants are expected to write essays, essays, applications, letters, etc. Also, the duration of the Tier III test is 60 minutes.

SSC CGL Tier III test mode – Points to remember:

  • Since this article contains a Hindi / English option, applicants should be careful when entering the option.
  • Compared to other exams, this exam is relatively straightforward, but candidates must achieve at least one-third of their total mark to pass the exam.
  • Therefore, according to the latest SSC CGL exam model, candidates with varying abilities take 80 minutes.

To know more about SSC Admit Card: Click the Link:

SSC Exam – Tier 4

The SSC CGL Tier 4 exam contains skills tests required for certain government positions. Candidates (levels I, II, and III) who have obtained at least a minimum passing score in the exam may participate in the skills test.


Curriculum 2020 SSC CGL Exam Program for – Tire I, II, III, and IV in detail: The higher-level examination (CGL) organized annually by the SSC Personnel Selection Committee (SSC) consists of four levels, namely Level III and Level IV. Hence, we have compiled a detailed SSC CGL Exam pattern that includes the latest exam samples for Level I, Level II, Level III, and Level IV so you can systematically prepare for the exam.

Leave a Reply